"How to File Your Application to Seal or Expunge"
Step 1: Print an Application to Seal or Expunge
Your journey to successfully seal or expunge a case begins with you printing an FDLE (Florida Department of Law Enforcement) Seal or Expunge application.
You can also call FDLE’s Expunge Section in Tallahassee at (850) 410-7870 and request that a application be sent to you.
- Complete the top part of the FDLE Application form.
- Then, sign the form and get it notarized by a notary public.
(Some notary publics charge a fee for this service.)
Step 2: Obtain a Certified Copy of the Deposition of the Case
You must obtain a certified copy of the disposition of the case you want to have sealed or expunged from the Criminal Court Clerk’s Office, Criminal Division, Felony, Misdemeanor or Criminal Traffic Section. There is a fee for this certified copy.
The main office is located at in the Richard Gerstein Justice Building.
Step 3: Complete Fingerprint Form at Local Police Station
- Go to your local police department
- Ask them to print your fingerprints on a fingerprint card or the fingerprint page from the FDLE website. (Some police departments charge a fee for this service.)
- Make sure that you fill out the top part of the fingerprint card with your identifying information
- Date of Birth
- Social Security Number
- Sign the Card
Step 4: To Seal a Case
If you can only have your case sealed (you entered a plea or were found guilty)
then you should send the following items to the Florida Department of Law Enforcement:
- A complete application
- Fingerprint card
- Certified case disposition
- Money order or cashier’s check in the amount of $75.00, made payable to Florida Department of Law Enforcement
Mail all the required materials to the FDLE at following address:
Step 5: To Expunge a Case
Complete the FDLE Application for a Certificate of Eligibility for Expunction (s. 943.585, F.S.) Successfully expunged cases must meet the following requirements:
- All the charges were dismissed by the judge, or
- All the charges were dropped by the state. then Section B of the application form must be completed by the State Attorney’s Office.
If the case you want to have expunged is a misdemeanor or criminal traffic case, take or mail the application to:
County Court Division
1469 Northwest 13 Terrace
Miami, Florida 33125
For juvenile cases, take or mail the items to:
155 NW 3rd Street
Miami, Florida 33128
For felony cases, take or mail it to:
1350 Northwest 12 Avenue
Miami, Florida 33136
Also include the certified copy of the case disposition with your application form. There is no charge for this service by Miami SAO. Your application and certified case disposition will be returned to you.
Once you get the application back with Section B completed, then you mail the completed application, certified case disposition, fingerprint card and the $75.00 fee to FDLE in Tallahassee at:
Step 6: FDLE Processes Your Application (Between 2 to 4 Months)
FDLE will then research your criminal history to determine if you are eligible to have your case sealed or expunged. This process may take between two to four months.
FDLE conducts a criminal history records check in Florida and throughout the United States. This process takes about a month. Once FDLE has finished reviewing your application, they will send you one of three things:
- A letter telling you that your case is not eligible and why
- A Certificate of Eligibility to Seal your case, or
- A Certificate of Eligibility to Expunge your case